My New PR Definition

My new Public Relations Definition: Expanding an organization’s brand image through promotional tactics through a variety of media.

 

 

Being new to the public relations world, I was not sure what it actually was. I never really looked into it or thought that it could benefit my career…I was wrong.

Public relations is what builds the images of companies through strategies and tactics. After reading Corbett’s blog, “Public relations is a strategic communication process that builds mutually beneficial relationships between organizations and their publics,” (Corbett, 2012). Although, his definition is much more professional and he probably knows a lot more than I do, but I think we are somewhat along the same terms.

            Public relations can only be successful by the people who work. Harlow gives an excellent definition, “Say what public relations is, but don’t say what it does; on the contrary, say that public relations practitioners use public relations in performing their function,”(Harlow, 2014). He honestly couldn’t say it better! The people are what create the success in PR firms. You have to know the little things that create the brand image and the successful PR firms have that with their employees.

            Public relations also has a big part of social media. TopRank online Marketing blog talks about the importance of social media. “By participating in the social web with the goal of PR, you’re going to inspire attention for your brand,” (TopRank Online Marketing). This is the area that I think PR is so successful. Employees at the PR firms have to be up to date with the social media that is popular at that moment. This is an amazing quality that firms have because it can make or break the brand image.

            I have learned a lot about the Public Relations world. It has taught me all of the hard planning that employees have to deal with and I give total respect for that because I am not good at it.

            Public relations is not my major, but I know that in the long run I will be working with firms and im happy I am able to understand the methods of how the PR firm works.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Corbett, G. (2012, March 01). A modern definition of public relations [Web log message]. Retrieved from http://prdefinition.prsa.org/index.php/2012/03/01/new-definition-of-public-relations/

 

Harlow, R. F. (2014). Building a public relations definition. (issue 4 ed., Vol. 2, pp. 34-42). Elsevier Inc. Retrieved from http://ac.els-cdn.com/S0363811176800227/1-s2.0-S0363811176800227-main.pdf?_tid=1a387da6-c3ef-11e3-ba91-00000aacb360&acdnat=1397491925_b7b2c109bd418a0c954d31595eebddce

 

 

TopRank Online Marketing. 3 steps for effectively using social media for pr [Web log message]. Retrieved from http://www.toprankblog.com/2009/11/how-to-social-media-pr/

Leave a comment